Diary of lesbian: Dig deeper

A run

A walk

Thoughts seem to be running through her mind.

She seems almost possessed.

The voices though.

The damn voices. (She bites her nails).

Demons. Yes demons!

Constantly in her head. That she drowns out every day.

Yes those voices and demons.

They’re now taking over.

“What’s that?” She asks.

They want to set you free. Free from your shackles.

Shackles of expectations, society, duty and religion.

“You don’t have to pretend anymore. You are allowed to cry and more importantly, you are allowed to love yourself.”

“Am I though? Every time I close my eyes, I think of her. Her, my mother. And her hateful spiteful words.”

“You think a tattoo is forever; so is the abuse from your mother.” I concluded crying.

“Yes child, let go of the hate. Forgive yourself for thinking that you needed to change.”

The demon sat next to me, ” Actually you don’t need to forgive yourself. You need to forgive them.”

“Make peace with your demons. For these are not your demons, this is you. This is who you are.”

“And don’t let them control the narrative.”

The scars though.

When she thinks back, all she can see is the pain and emotional turmoil she caused. The judgmental looks. The sneer and hate.

“You need to let that go.”

“What about the hate?” I asked.

“That just means that they succeeded to turn you against yourself. You’re worth loving and being happy.”

“You may think that we’re demons and voices but the truth is, we are the parts of you that the society has taught to hide.”

“But I wanna dig deeper,” she said.

“What is it that you think you’ll find?” the voice asked.

” A part of me that is normal. A part worth salvaging. A hidden beautiful side of me. “

“So you think you are not normal? And not worth loving?” The demon asked.

Author: Kananu Esther

I am a passionate female entrepreneur who seeks out to help other upcoming women in business. I am into online marketing and business strategies. I'm an avid reader as well and I love picking people's brain on all things concerning religion, politics and business.

Leave a comment